Four Inducted into the Monroe Athletic Hall of Fame

The Monroe High School Athletic Hall of Fame recently announced their 2018 Induction Class. This years inductees include: Zach Hensley ('01), Tyler Osterman ('08), Ben Ryan ('02) and James Watts ('93). 

Tyler Osterman, Ben Ryan and James Watts were all recognized at halftime of the Hornets Varsity Football game on Friday, August 31st vs. Ross. Zach Hensley will be recognized on Saturday, December 22 during halftime of the Varsity Boys Basketball game vs. Talawanda.

Please stop by and view the plaques of all the memebrs of the Monroe Athletic Hall of Fame located on "Main Street" inside Monroe Jr./Sr. High School.

2018 Hall of Fame Inductee Bios

Zach Hensley 1997-2001 An outstanding 3 sport athlete in Wrestling, Cross Country, and Track. In Wrestling he was MML Champion and Sectional Champion all 4 years. He was also District Champion is 1999. He was a State Qualifier 4 times, and he placed 6th in the State in 2001. He ended his wrestling career with 140 wins. In Cross Country he was 1st Team All-MML and a Regional Qualifier all 4 years. He was also the MML Champion in the 2 Mile for the Hornet Track Team.

Tyler Osterman 2004-2008 Monroe High School’s All Time Leading Scorer in Basketball with 1602 career points and has the single game scoring record with 49 points. He was 1st Team All-League all 4 years, 1st Team All-SW Ohio 2 years, Honorable Mention All-Ohio 2 years, and 2nd Team All-Ohio 1 year In Football he played QB on the great teams of 2005, 2006, and 2007. He holds the school passing records for yards in a season, yards in a career, touchdown passes in a game, touchdown passes in a season, and touchdown passes in a career. He was 1st Team All-League 3 years, 2nd Team All-SW Ohio 3 years, and SWBL Offensive Back of the Year his Junior Season. He was the Shortstop on the Varsity Baseball team his Sophomore year. Tyler continued his football career at the collegiate level as the starting QB for Centre College from 2008-2012.

Ben Ryan 1998-2002 Monroe’s 1st State Champion in Wrestling. He holds the record for Fastest Pin at 7 seconds, and most wins in a season with 44. A 2 time MML Champion, 2 time Sectional Champion, 2 time District Champion, 2 time State Qualifier, and his Senior year he was State Champion in the Heavy Weight Division.

James Watts 1989-1993 Jim was an outstanding Place Kicker on the 1991 and 1992 football teams. He earned 1st Team All-MML and 1st Team All-District both years. As a Junior he was 1st Team All-Ohio and 2nd Team All-Ohio as a Senior. An outstanding baseball player as well. He was the team MVP his Senior year and 1st Team All-MML. He capped off his athletic career at Monroe High School with the Hornet of the Year Award. Jim went on to play college football at Wittenberg University.